top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTim Gavin

New Music Report - End of January

First month of 2021 is almost done, already a nice crop of new music to listen to. But how much of it has hit potential? Well lets take a look.



Parker McCollum – To Be Loved By You


Its okay, but its only okay. Reminds me a bit of Tim McGraw a bit but the lyrics seem a bit shallow.


3/5



The Pretty Reckless (feat. Tom Morello) And So It Went


This is the second single off of their new album Death By Rock n Roll. They have a good sound here but I feel like Taylor Momsens singing doesn't match up with the music. Tom Morello's solo is amazing on this song though so I'll listen to it again just so I can hear this solo.


3.5/5



Tim McGraw and Tyler Hubbard – Undivided


I like the sentiment, but I really don't like hearing it from two Country singers, and I feel like I've heard so many songs like this before.

2/5




Pale Waves – Easy


This band has gone is a different direction for this new album from the sounds of it. But even though its not the sounds that drew me into them in the first place I still like this song, and it sounds very unique while totally fitting in with the early 2000's pop rock that I think they're drawing inspiration from.


4/5




Lana Del Rey - Chemtrails Over The Country Club


There's just a lot I don't like about Lana Del Rey. I feel like she insists upon herself. Also using the word Chemtrails just makes me uncomfortable. If you like her music you'll probably love this song, but she just doesn't do it for me. Also the song literally drags on at the end.


0/5



Charlotte Cardin – Daddy


I like the laid back vibe of thistrack, feels like a summer road trip song


3/5



JP Saxe – Line By line (feat. Maren Morris)


I like this a lot, its like If The World Was Ending but not about that. Lets have this song be his big hit and...leave the other one in 2020 where it belongs.

3/5



Foo Fighters – Waiting On A War


The song definitely fits the tone of the last 4 years, I really like the build up on this song too

4/5



Hayley Williams – Teardrop (Massive Attack Cover)


Awesome seeing appreciation for Massive Attack, and she does a great cover here. Voice sounds great, I like the slight change in instrumentation

2/5



DaBaby – Masterpiece


I always feel so out of my element talking about Hip Hop on this podcast. But this track sounds pretty good. I like the production, and Dababy's rapping is pretty catchy

2/5



Ariana Grande – 34+35 (remix)


Makin math sexy and bringing in some great features from Megan Thee Stallion and Doja Cat. Not very different from the original but I like this version too

5/5



Chevelle – Self Destructor


Is it just me or is the production of this song kind of off? The vocals seem quiet and the mix is muddy. But I do like this track over all. Takes you on a bit of a journey, the piano at the end is pretty cool too.

3/5



Hiddn - Like a G6


Used to hate this song but nowadays I feel a weird nostalgia for it and I think this version is just as good as the original.


1/5



Brojob – WAP


If you know anything about Brojob, you might be surprised it took them this long to cover this song, and they are by design the only men who can get away with doing this song.

3/5



Alan Walker – All Above


This track scratches my background dance music itch. One of those song you hear through mall speakers while you're out shopping. I don't mean that as something bad, I love music like this, helps me focus on stuff.

2/5



Royal Blood – Typhoons


I've known about Royal Blood for a while now, but this song is the one that made me a fan. I love this dancier direction their music is going on. Great hooks on this song, this is the first great rock song of 2021


5/5


Years and Years – It's a Sin


Wasn't expecting a Piano Ballad, but I like what I hear. Very interesting that its a Pet Shop Boys Cover considering how recently both bands worked together. Olly Alexanders voice is front and center and it sounds fantastic. But its an interesting choice for a single.

3/5



Jason Derulo and Adam Levine – Lifestyle


Where was this song 10 years ago? This would have been all over the place then, but I actually kinda like this song...even though I hate the subject matter.

3/5



Silk City and Ellie Goulding – New Love


This is the upbeat dancepop I want blasting everywhere all the time. Even though it does match the style of the disco revival going on, it still sounds unique enough to stand out. Its super bright, gorgeous production, now if only silk city would put out an album.

4/5



Shaun Frank – Crazy


Again has a disco-ish feel to it, you could almost pass it off as a Daft Punk side project too. I've been really impressed with how much better Shaun Frank has gotten in the last year or so and I can't wait to hear more. I'd hope this gets play not because its cancon but just because its a good song, so that means it'll probably be a secondary or something. Cause that's just what happens to Canadian songs that I like.

4/5



All My Favorite Songs – Weezer


I wonder if the next weezer album is just going to Sound like The Beatles?


3/5



Skin – Sabrina Carpenter


She sounds a lot like Ariana Grande here. But this song doesn't do it for me.

1/5




Curtis Waters – Doodoodoo


The intro kinda threw me off a bit but the rest of the song is pretty good.

2/5



Louis The Child, COIN – Self Care (The Knocks Remix)


I feel like every song the knocks are a part of just becomes better. I listened to the original version and it sounds...incomplete compared to this remix.

3/5



Birdy – Surrender


This is just so pleasing to listen to. I like the stripped back – Almost Country sounding production here. It could almost be a wedding song, but it doesn't quite have that same feel which I really like.

3/5



Blake Shelton – Minimum Wage


This is just tone deaf, Blake Sheltons probably never made minimum wage in his whole life, this is just ...BS....and this is coming from someone who actually likes a lot of Blake Sheltons music. This song should never have been made

0/5



Home Sweet – Russel Dickerson


This song reminds me of High Valley a bit. Whats interesting is that this basically has the same message as Minimum Wage, but its done so much better. Because money isn't the focal point.

2/5



Passenger – Sword From The Stone.


I think Ed Sheeran did a pretty great job on remixing this song. The production is great and I actually really like how this song sounds...normally I don't like Passengers voice, but this track won me over a lot more than I thought it would.

4/5



Tyler Shaw – When You're home


It's a very cozy Tyler Shaw song. Its one thing I really like about his music, its sweet, its comfortable, a little too consistent sometimes but I don't think thats a fault.

3/5



Billie Eilish and Rosalia – Lo Vas A Olvidar


I didn't expect Billie Eilish to sing lyrics like this. And yes I looked at the translated lyrics and this is a pretty intimate love song. Pretty darn good.


4/5



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goodbye 2020 - Episode Notes and Further Listening

Well, 2020 is almost at a close, and I figured I'd highlight the good parts in the Music Industry....which is part of the reason why its so darn short. Well actually I'm just aiming to make shorter ep

bottom of page