top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTim Gavin

New Music Report | Mid-January

It's a new year and as the world shakes off that holiday lull in their musical palate, new songs finally start coming out. This week on the music meeting we have a couple of stellar covers, established powerhouses releasing something new, and a couple acts I wish would take a break.


Caroline Polachek – Breathless (Corrs Cover)



Pretty cool take on this classic from the Corrs, I like the production but I feel like it almost holds back. The original has this punch to it on the chorus thats kind of missing here.


Crosses – The Begining of the end




Side project of Chino Moreno from Deftones. Going for a dream pop sound which works so well with his voice. I love how gothic this single is and I'm surprised to see a new release from them considering their first album came out back in 2014. Turns out this is a cover too so I listened to the original and Crosses nailed it here. Kept true to the original but did enough of their own spin on it


Lauv – 2021



I like the song, but I feel the production is a little too lo-fi for my tastes. But I like the lush instruments in the background if those were cranked up a little more in the final mix, it would be a great song. But right now its a good song.


Olivia O'Brien – Better Than Feeling Lonely




Her singing reminds me a bit of Jessie Reyez a little bit. This song has a similar feel to 2021 for me, but with none of the flaws. I dig this song. I liked the last part that had all her vocals layered up a bunch


Barry Gibb and Dolly Parton – Words



Barry Gibb is making a country album with a pretty big guest list. Keith Urban, Jason Isbell, Olivia Newton John, and Dolly Parton. After hearing this track I'm actually excited to check out what the rest of this album will sound like. Real classic country sound to it, super laid back, and Barry Gibb still sounds good.


Blackbear and Wiz Khalifa – cheers




It sounds very inauthentic to me.


Ed Sheeran – Afterglow



Feels like this side of Ed Sheeran has been missing for a long time. On the surface its just him with his guitar but there's so much more under the surface I liked hearing for. This is supposed to be a stand alone single but I hope it at least gets to be a bonus track on his next album whenever that comes.


Dua Lipa and Kylie Minogue – Real Groove




This is a remix of a song off of Kylie Minogue's new album Disco, which is a must listen if you're into the disco revival that Dua Lipa's been going for because its very much a continuation and celebration of that sound and this single bridges these artists together perfectly.


Hailey Winters and Little Big Town – Fillin My Cup



Here's a drinking song I can get behind. Just some great singing, good vibes, this sounds like summer. I like the old-school country sound on here.


Excision & Whales – The Last Time



Pretty standard EDM Ballad. But I like the vocals on here, the drop is fantastic on here, not too much on the low end, but the high end on it is wonderful


Kings of Leon


The Bandit



I'm still very much hung up on Only By The Night so this sounds a little more indie than what I'm used to, but its very good, the singing feels a bit more in the background though, I feel like the guitars are the most pronounced


100,000 People



This song really adds to the whole theme popping up this week. Laid back summer sounding songs. Which is good because my post pandemic summer playlist (when I eventually get to use it how I intend) will be pretty awesome.


Deadmau5 and Wolfgang Gartner - Channel 43





Really funky stuff and has that signature Deadmau5 feel that I just love to hear. Has a disco-esque kind of sound in the background and that 90's gangsta rap synth there too.


Mod sun and avril lavigne



Sounds a little generic, and it feels like Mod Sun and Avril Lavigne are singing two separate songs and they were just kinda smashed together. I listened to some other Mod Sun songs and its alright but this doesn't do it for me.


Saweetie and Doja Cat – Best Friend



This has Tik Tok song written all over it. But I kinda like it.


Florida Georgia Line – New Truck



This has Tik Tok song written all over it. I f***ing hate it.


Foo Fighters – No Son Of Mine



Sounds like a mix of Rammstein and Zac Brown Band and I like it a little more than Shame Shame. Really fun song


A-Trak and Ferreck Dawn – My Own Way



I'm a huge fan of this kind of music, house that works either in the background or up front. Its catchy, the vocal samples are really cool.

David Guetta – Memories 2021 (feat. Kid Cudi)



I prefer the original, but I also like this remix a lot too, if you're a DJ or a David Guetta Completionist then definitely grab it, but otherwise it's not crucial.


Justin Beiber – Anyone



I don't mind this song, but I'm just tired of the guy. I think instead of pushing all these new songs he needs to take a breather. Let Changes get out of peoples heads and then release new music when people will stop remembering that album.


Listen to this weeks episode of The Tim Gavin Show Podcast for more of my thoughts on these singles.

Recent Posts

See All

New Music Report - End of January

First month of 2021 is almost done, already a nice crop of new music to listen to. But how much of it has hit potential? Well lets take a look. Parker McCollum – To Be Loved By You Its okay, but its o

Goodbye 2020 - Episode Notes and Further Listening

Well, 2020 is almost at a close, and I figured I'd highlight the good parts in the Music Industry....which is part of the reason why its so darn short. Well actually I'm just aiming to make shorter ep

bottom of page